Ask Search:
DAVID ROY FRIESDAVID ROY FRIES 

how do I delete an account?

Steve MolisSteve Molis
 If you have the required permissions on the Account record 

User Permissions Needed
To view accounts:“Read” on accounts
To delete accounts:“Delete” on accounts

To delete an account, click Del next to the account on the accounts list page, or click Delete on the account detail page.

When you delete an account it's moved to the Recycle Bin along with any of these related items:
  • Contacts
  • Opportunities
  • Contracts (if they're not activated)
  • Activities
  • Notes
  • Attachments
  • Portal roles and groups (if all portal users in the account are disabled)
  • Partner relationships
  • Relationship group members
If you undelete an account, any related items are also restored except for:

You can't delete an account if it has been enabled as a partner account, has associated cases, activated contracts, related opportunities that are owned by other users, or associated contacts are enabled for the Self-Service portal. In addition, if you attempt to delete an account that has closed/won opportunities owned by you, a message displays asking you whether you want to delete the closed/won opportunities along with the account or to cancel the account deletion.

Note
You can delete an account if you are an administrator, the account owner, or a user above the account owner in the organization role hierarchy, and if you have the appropriate user permission. You do not need the “Delete” permission on any associated records that are included in the deletion.
Santosh DantuluriSantosh Dantuluri
What happens to Cases??
Steve MolisSteve Molis
You can't delete an account if it has been enabled as a partner account, has associated cases, activated contracts, related opportunities that are owned by other users, or associated contacts are enabled for the Self-Service portal. In addition, if you attempt to delete an account that has closed/won opportunities owned by you, a message displays asking you whether you want to delete the closed/won opportunities along with the account or to cancel the account deletion.