How to merge Accounts with its associated contacts and meetings? - Answers - Salesforce Trailblazer Community
Ask Search:
Teresa KehTeresa Keh 

How to merge Accounts with its associated contacts and meetings?

We have had a lot of accounts changed due to acquisitions and mergers. How can we merge the information so the contacts and meetings data under the old account show up in the new account?
Steve MolisSteve Molis
When you merge Accounts this happens automatically, the survivin g Account inherits everything from the Accounts that take the long walk.  

Merging Duplicate Accounts

Business accounts available in: All Editions except Database.com

Person accounts available in: Enterprise, Unlimited, and Developer Editions


User Permissions Needed
To view accounts:“Read” on accounts
To merge business accounts:“Delete” on accounts
To merge person accounts:“Delete” on accounts

AND

“Read” on contacts

  1. From the Accounts tab, click Merge Accounts in the Tools section.
  2. Enter a search string to find the duplicate accounts.

    For example, you can enter acme* to find duplicate accounts listed as “Acmes” and “Acme, Inc.” Do not use the local name for the account. Then click Find Accounts.

  3. Check the rows of up to three accounts you want to merge. Click Next.
  4. Select one account as the “Master Record.” Any data in hidden or read-only fields will be taken from the Master Record. However, administrators, and users with the “Edit Read Only Fields” permission, can manually select which read-only fields to retain. Note that hidden fields are not displayed during the merge.
  5. Select the fields that you want to retain from each record.

    When there is conflicting data, the fields in the left column are preselected and the row is marked in blue.

  6. Click the Merge button to complete the merge.

Tips on Merging Accounts

  • You can merge accounts if you are an administrator, the account owner, or a user above the account owner in the role hierarchy and you have the appropriate user permissions.
  • When merging two accounts that you do not own, you must have “Delete” permissions on accounts and “Edit” permissions on opportunities and cases. You need “Delete” permissions on accounts because you are deleting one of the accounts when you perform an account merge. You need “Edit” permissions on opportunities and cases because changing the account name field (AccountID) edits any opportunities or cases that are associated with the accounts you are merging.
  • Any related items from any of the duplicate accounts will be associated with the newly merged account.
  • In Professional, Enterprise, Unlimited, and Developer Edition organizations, any sharing rules are applied to the newly merged account. Also, any manual sharing from the “Master Record” is applied to the merged account.
  • When you merge accounts that are listed in the Parent Account field of other accounts, the newly merged account is linked only to the accounts of the selected Master Record.
  • All discarded duplicate records are moved to the Recycle Bin.
  • The newly merged account displays the Created By date from the oldest account you are merging, and shows the merge date as the Modified By date.
  • If both accounts have different account teams, the merged account will contain members from both account teams.
  • In organizations that use divisions, the merged account is assigned to the division of the Master Record, unless you select otherwise.
  • When you merge accounts that have territories and the Exclude from account assignment rules box was deselected on both of the original accounts, account assignment rules will run on the new account to determine its territories. Also, any manually added territories on the original accounts will be manually added to the new account.
  • When you merge accounts that have territories and the Exclude from account assignment rules box was checked on one or both of the original accounts:
    • The newly merged account has all of the territories of the original accounts.
    • Account assignment rules will not run on the newly merged account.
    • If a territory was assigned to one of the original accounts based on account assignment rules, it will appear as having been assigned to the new account based on rules even if the new account does not match the rules.
    • If a territory was manually assigned to one of the original accounts, it will be manually assigned to the new account.
    • If a territory was added to one account manually and to the other account by rules, it will be manually added to the new account.
  • When you merge accounts, you also merge the accounts' memberships in relationship groups. For more information, see Merging Accounts Associated with Relationship Groups .

Tips on Merging Person Accounts

  • If your organization uses person accounts, both business accounts and person accounts are returned when you search for duplicates. However, you cannot merge a person account with a business account or vice versa. Person accounts are indicated by the person account icon (Person Account).
  • You can't merge person accounts enabled to use a Customer Portal.

Tips on Merging Accounts Associated with Portals

  • You must have the “Manage Users” permission to merge accounts associated with portals.
  • You can merge accounts that have contacts associated with the same type of portal. For example, you can merge accounts that have contacts associated with a partner portal or Customer Portal, but you cannot merge an account that has contacts associated with a partner portal with an account that has contacts associated with a Customer Portal.

    When you merge accounts that have contacts associated with multiple portals of the same type, a contact's access to a specific portal does not change. This is because a portal user's profile determines the portal he or she can access.

  • When merging a partner account with a non-partner account, the partner account must be the master.
  • When merging partner accounts with a non-partner account, the owner cannot be changed.
  • To ensure that merged accounts will include contacts associated with a portal, select the account with portal users as the master record during the merge process.
Erin TidwellErin Tidwell
Steps may change with new versions, so I'm adding a link to the most updated version of the Salesforce online help article about merging accounts:

https://help.salesforce.com/HTViewHelpDoc?id=account_merge.htm

Thanks!
Erin
James DomingoJames Domingo
Since Merge Accounts does not appear under Tools, it is impossible to merge accounts.  So I had to combine everything manually.  What a huge waste of time.
Shaz HussainShaz Hussain
@James Domingo

I had this issue as well and found the Tools> Merge Accounts option in Classic but could not see it in LX.